My Mom Goes to Funerals

16 11 2013

DSC_7488

I read this piece from NPR the other day. (It’s short and worth the read.)

It made me think of my mom. She goes to funerals more than anyone else I know. Seriously, I was thinking about it, and I’m positive she goes to more funerals in a year than movies.

It’s a quiet thing to do, a caring thing. And showing people she cares in quiet ways is one of my mother’s hallmarks. She takes cookies when someone has a missionary farewell. She writes thank you notes and birthday greetings and Christmas cards. And she always goes to the funeral.

A lot of times, she doesn’t even know the person who died very well; she goes to support the people who are left behind.

And that, to me, is a perfect example of what Deidre Sullivan said. “In my humdrum life, the daily battle hasn’t been good versus evil. It’s hardly so epic. Most days, my real battle is doing good versus doing nothing.”

Thanks, Mom, for always showing me it’s worth doing good.

Actions

Information

One response

17 11 2013
Kathleen

She is a beautiful example. I love your mom!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

