Anxiety

4 04 2008

I’m under a lot of stress right now.

Many different factors contribute to this, some of my own doing and others not.

On Sunday, when we were waiting with Zack to go in for his CT scan, he was very afraid. We tried hard to calm him down, but when they put some saline solution into his arm he yelled, “It’s sizzling! Make it stop! It’s sizzling!”

I thought at first that it had something to do with the saline, but the other night the same thing happened to me.

It was about 3 am, and I had just settled Colby back into his bed after he’d woken up. Stan and Zack were still downstairs, sleeping on the couches. Rainbow was next to me in my bed, but I was–Zing!–wide awake.

That’s when I realized my arms were sizzling.

It felt a little bit like ants crawling all over my skin, or as if every nerve ending was buzzing.

You know, like, well, sizzling.

I also, for some unknown reason, had the song “Zuckerman’s Famous Pig” in my head.

Zowie, you gotta agree, he’s a real celebrity.
Fine swine, wish he were mine
What if he’s not so big?
He’s some terrific, radiant, humble,
thingama jingama pig.

And now you all have it in your head. You’re welcome.

Not exactly conducive to sleeping.

But anyway, I don’t really know why I’m writing this right now. I guess because my arms are starting to feel a little sizzly again and I’m having a hard time focusing on anything.

Like getting dinner ready.

Maybe food will help. I have some brownies our neighbor brought by.

I don’t really feel like eating brownies, though.

I’m more in the mood for bacon.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 04 2008
Anonymous

I wonder why you’re sizzling? Sorry about all the anxiety going on there. I hope you get some good, no-zapping sleep soon. Dina

5 04 2008
mamacheetah

Wanda, I was wondering how you were handling all the drama. It’s hard on mama’s when the kids aren’t doing well. We send you our love all the way from the Southwest.
Love El Jefe and La
PS According to Chunk #1’s prayer he is “thankful that Zack is getting better.”

Leave a Reply

