It’s a Miracle!

14 05 2008

I have loads of photos from recent adventures to post, but since I’m not on top of things I just wanted to relate a little Rainbow action.

First of all, I have to say that Rainbow is gifted.

I know, I know, every parent thinks their child is gifted–and I happen to think ALL my children are gifted. In fact, each has a propensity towards music which I’m pretty sure they get from Stan and his musical family.

But Rainbow is even a little bit beyond the above-average musical talent in our family. For one thing, she has been able to sing right on pitch since she could talk. One time, awhile back, she even corrected me when I was singing. “No, Mom, it goes like this.”

Yeah.

For another thing, she has always liked to play the piano. Not pound on the piano, like most small children–play the piano. When she was two, she would sit and play one key at a time, over and over again, just listening to it.

In the past year or so, since she easily mastered Mary Had a Little Lamb and Hot Cross Buns that Zack was learning in piano (he mastered them, too, of course) I started teaching her Chopsticks. That one is a little trickier, you know, involving two hands and sometimes both hands moving and sometimes only one hand moving. Pretty complex for a three-and-a-half year old, really.

Well, she’s four now, and since about New Year’s or maybe Valentine’s Day she’s been playing Chopsticks with slight variations. She’ll finish the regular “verse”, and then she’ll start messing around with chords–triads, switching from major to minor and that sort of thing.

Now we come to today. She generally plays two fingers on each hand within the original Chopsticks octave, occasionally calling out as she switches chords, “Does that sound beautiful, Mom?”

Today, she was playing along when I heard a surprised gasp.

“A new key!” she cried.

It was so cute, as though the piano fairy decided to drop a new one onto the keyboard because Rainbow had been working so hard and just needing that special note for her chord.

Move over, August Rush!

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 05 2008
Dina

Gifted. Definitely gifted.

15 05 2008
Lee Family

two words: amazing and precious.

19 05 2008
Clint, Camber, and Camdon

Clint’s first comment was “whatever, Wendy is so musically talented… the kids get it from her too!” I said so if I said that it would be believable he said yes haha. So I can claim that if we have musical children its from the Joneses and you can’t so there haha just kidding!

22 05 2008
Wendy

Tell Clint I was talking about innate musical ability. Everything I’ve got is just learned, but those in Stan’s family–I don’t know if it’s nature or nurture or a little of both. Anyway, it’s a pleasure for my genetics to be mixed with theirs.

Leave a Reply

