Fablehaven 3: Grip of the Shadow Plague

11 06 2008

The third book in the Fablehaven series, Grip of the Shadow Plague, starts out fast and keeps running clear until the last page. Like in the other Fablehaven books, Brandon Mull uses solid writing and likable main characters to keep the reader engaged in the battles they fight with the somehow believable mythical creatures. And despite the complete impossibility of the task that ends up falling on Kendra and Seth’s shoulders, they are somehow both able to use their greatest strengths to help overcome the plague of darkness that had begun taking over Fablehaven. Mull tied up the story enough to make the ending satisfying, but left enough strings dangling for readers to be excited about the next installment in the series.
The only thing I didn’t like about this book was in the beginning, when I couldn’t remember who (or what) quite a few of the minor characters were. I hate information dumps as much as the next person, but I think some sort of character glossary in the back would be helpful. Then again, maybe it’s just me that had forgotten entirely who in the heck Warren, Dale, and Coulter were.
Otherwise, I highly recommend this book along with its two predecessors.
Actions

Information

3 responses

17 06 2008
LDS Publisher

I had to stop and think for a minute too, when I read this as it had been awhile since I read #2. I enjoyed this book as well. Thanks for the review.

30 06 2008
storyengineer

That is the troubling thing about series. I read this one soon after reading book 2, so I didn’t have that same problem.

I enjoyed this book too. Any idea on how long the series will be?

30 06 2008
Wendy

For some reason, I was thinking five books. That may or may not be true, as I have a tendency to switch facts around at times.

Leave a Reply

