Summer Book Trek Wrap-up

30 08 2008

I was involved in two online reading challenges this summer. I didn’t review nearly as many books as I thought I would (only one!)–and I actually didn’t even read as much as usual. However, I still had a good time and enjoyed seeing what other people were reading, too. Here’s the official sum up from the Summer Book Trek:


I had planned on reading these:
Upon the Mountains by Gale Sears
Before the Dawn by Dean Hughes
Here, There Be Dragons by James A. Owen
Red Dragon Codex by R.D. Henham
Fablehaven 3: Grip of the Shadow Plague by Brandon Mull
Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

Questions:

1. How many fictions books by LDS authors did you read?
I’m not entirely sure because I didn’t keep track. At least eight.

2. Did you read more than you would have read if you hadn’t participated in this book trek? I probably did read more LDS fiction because this challenge pushed the books by LDS authors to the front of my queue.

3. Did the reviews posted by other participants influence which titles you read? No, but I did see quite a few that I’m looking forward to reading in the future.

4. Did the Whitney Awards influence which titles you read? How? Yes. There were a couple that I read just because they won or were nominated for a Whitney Award.

5. Did the many, many virtual blog tours that happened this summer influence which titles you read? How? No.

6. Did you finish all the books you had planned on? Why? No. I didn’t finish either dragon book on my list because (for me at least) you just have to be in the right mood to read about dragons. For some strange reason this summer, I wasn’t.

7. Did you discover any new authors whom you now love? Not in connection with the book trek, but I have found a couple of new ones from looking on http://ldsfiction2.blogspot.com/.

8. Did you nominate any of the books you read for Whitney awards? No.

9. Would you be interested in another LDS themed reading challenge either this winter, or next summer? Yes. It’s good for me to have some goals in life.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

