I like them, by gosh

13 11 2008

We’ve had a stressful week.

There was a family emergency, Stan went out of town, and I just feel like I’ve been through the wringer the past few days.

Some people eat when they’re under stress.

I don’t.

In fact, I have a hard time eating at all when I’m stressed, most likely because my stomach is all tied up in knots and forgets it’s hungry.

Apparently, I shop when I’m stressed.

Case in point: after a rousing game of Glow Golf (which was quite fun except the whole time I was running interference with Colby, who particularly liked to crawl up and down any hole with an incline, nevermind the poor shmoes who were actually trying to play) on Veterans’ Day (thank you, veterans, for getting us out of school), I took the kids to the Osh Kosh store. All of Eden’s skirts are getting a bit, shall we say risque for church. (But, you know, for school they’re still okay.) So a church outfit for Eden was on the list, along with some un-jeans for Zack (don’t ask).

This particular store and I have a wonderful history. I’m pretty sure none of the clerks recognized me (I did have a gigantic wad of toilet paper covering 2/3 of my face the last time I was there), but they may have recognized my kids. Still, they didn’t kick us out. And aside from Rainbow’s refusal to leave (in perfect melt-into-a-puddle-of-complete-despair-and-will-not-move-without-force form) because I wouldn’t buy her some sunglasses, the trip really went well overall. But I spent a lot of money.

Not a lot a lot, but, you know, enough.

While I was there, I just remembered all sorts of other things the kids needed–Colby has crawled the knees out of most of his pants, Zack found a coat he really loved and he’s been needing a new one, and Rainbow had to get a shirt because everyone else was getting something. The pile on the stroller kept growing.

One of the things I love about Osh Kosh is their clothes are cute and easily washable. I don’t have time to sort out “cold gentle”s. Seriously, folks, I’m lucky to get the whites, darks, and lights into separate piles. And clothes just don’t seem to get clean in cold water, say what you will about saving energy and all that. I’m pretty much a failure at stain fighting, and with warm water things don’t seem to actually stain as much in the first place. Bless you for your “warm normal” washing instructions, Osh Kosh. Obviously, one must stock up when one has the chance. They were having a pretty good sale for Veterans’ Day (thank you, veterans, for clothing sales).

It’s not how much you spend, it’s how much you save, right? My dad used to say that all the time, and he’s a very wise man. I try to follow parental advice whenever possible. I totally lived by that particular adage on Tuesday. (He might have been being sarcastic when he said it, but kids don’t really understand sarcasm.)

And guess what: if my total had been, say, $300, I saved the equivalent of $200! How do you like them apples?

Join me tomorrow, when I renumerate the trips to Fred Meyer and JoAnn Fabrics.

Wait. On second thought, don’t. I’m starting to have buyer’s remorse and that’s not going to help my stress level any. Perhaps a quick stop at Pier 1 will help . . . kidding, kidding. (A lot of it is Christmas stuff. . . and Stan didn’t really want to get a sports car, did you honey?)

Oh, and one last thing: thank you, veterans, for freedom. I’m so grateful.

Actions

Information

6 responses

13 11 2008
Mandy

I hope that everything is all right with you all! First of all, Glow Golf. Never heard of it but it sounds like something I could get on board with. Secondly, I think that your Dad and I could get along. My mom’s financial advice? If you can’t afford it, it doesn’t matter if it is on sale, you can’t afford it. Not quite as fun.

14 11 2008
earwaxtasteslikecrayons

Glow Golf is miniature golf in the dark. It’s in a big store at the mall, and they have black lights and big, flourescent sea scenes on the walls (which are actually not walls, but hanging sheets or blankets or something). The putters glow and the balls glow and all the holes are framed out in flourescent. The kids LOVE it–it’s probably at least as exciting at mini golf at Porter Park used to be.

14 11 2008
Mrs. Olsen

Wendy- I personally enjoy retail therapy AND emotional overeating. Sounds like you got some good deals, hopefully your kids will get at least a good year of wear out of them.

14 11 2008
Dina

I want to glow golf! Next time we are in Seattle!

I can’t eat when I’m stressed either. I guess that’s why I was 107 when R and I got married. Lucky for me, I fattened up quite nicely after the big event. (Unlucky for him?)

14 11 2008
anitanap

I L-O-V-E this blog. And I thoroughly enjoyed your back-to-school shopping adventures. Being an “Experienced” shopper with three kids, it’s entertaining to imagine trying it with four. But I relate with the retail therapy. So much fun. Not quite as fun to return stuff 2 months later when I finally get around to it… but then it’s free therapy. 🙂

More importantly, are things okay? Is Stan back?

14 11 2008
Tami

Good job! Retail therapy that will actually be used is way better than retail therapy that has no purpose!

Leave a Reply

