The Place Where There Are A Lot Of Hams

24 11 2008

Stan had business in Memphis all last week. We really missed him (especially me). Things had been clipping along at a barely contained simmer for awhile when I decided it was time for a mini-vacation. We took off Thursday afternoon for Bellingham–as Rainbow said, “This must be the place where there are a lot of hams.”

Actually, we didn’t see any hams at all. We really just went up to visit my friend Elizabeth.

But before we saw her, we got to stay in a hotel. The kids were ecstatic.

dsc_02632

That’s right–a king-sized bed. Oh, baby–living the high life! I haven’t really wanted a king-sized bed before (especially as I just bought new linens this year) and Stan and I are on the smallish size ourselves. However, when kids climb into bed with you . . . well, let’s just say I’m reconsidering. Besides, king-sized sheets are always on sale. Anyway . . .

I found the hotel online for what I thought was a pretty good deal. Then I noticed the next entry was a king suite with a Jacuzzi tub for only ten dollars more. I was happy to pay the extra $10 and get out of putting my swimsuit on. The kids were happy to swim in the room. It was a win-win.

dsc_02651

See the joy:

dsc_02711

The next morning after breakfast in the lobby, I told the kids they could get back in the Jacuzzi (Zack kept calling it the “Jazzuki”) while I packed everything up. After turning on the water, I started gathering the bathroom items to put away when I noticed a small bottle of bath and shower gel I had thrown in. “Should we add some bubbles?” I said. Really, though, did I even need to ask?

dsc_02741

I headed out of the bathroom and began getting things together and getting Colby dressed. About five minutes later, Eden called out, “Mom, would you come and turn off the jets, please?”

“Just a minute–I’m putting on Colby’s shoes.”

A minute or so passed.

Eden called out again, a little frantic this time, “Mom, please come and turn off the jets! The bubbles are overflowing!”

dsc_02761

Sure enough, the jets had given those bubbles a mind of their own, ala Brady Bunch.

 dsc_02771

dsc_02781

WAY more fun than the pool, right?

It took longer to get packed and get the bubbles under control than I expected, but that’s what is so great about a mini-vacation: no schedule. So we took our time and followed my mapquest instructions to Elizabeth’s place.

Here we are, invading/overwhelming her apartment:

dsc_02801

Note Colby on the right hand side, screaming his head off. Elizabeth’s mom held him while I took the photo. He doesn’t take too kindly to strangers, that one. Also note the giant exercise ball; all I’m going to say is it’s lucky Elizabeth only keeps viola music stashed in the corner and not expensive vases.

Here’s one where we’ve got a little more camera attention:

dsc_02821

She lives in this great old building in downtown Bellingham. Someday, I’d like to walk around and just take photos–but this was NOT that day. Colby, as you can see, was not in the best of spirits. The older kids were really excited to meet Elizabeth and see the pictures they drew for her hanging proudly on her door. Elizabeth even drew some pictures for them, which they were also excited about. We love you, E!

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 11 2008
Mandy

You are a brave lady to take all 4 on a trip all by yourself. And I love the bubble-tub pictures–too cute.

24 11 2008
mamacheetah

I absolutely love the picture in the bubbles with just their heads peaking out. I’m glad you could get out with the kids and have some fun!

24 11 2008
moniquel319

Ok this is by far one of the funniest posts I have ever read! You’ll have to let me know your coming next time, you can save your money and stay with us. Your always welcome. No jazzuki tub though.

24 11 2008
Candice Rail

SO funny. I am also impressed that you took all of your children on a vacation by yourself. You are liberating me.

Leave a Reply

