Days of Gratitude: Twenty-two

22 12 2008

Snow Forts

Zack and I have been at loggerheads lately. (Where is that phrase from, I wonder?) I weep, wail, and gnash my teeth (gnash is such a great word) and he defies, sasses, and makes inappropriate noises. I am reminded of that part of Sleepless in Seattle where Tom Hanks says to his date, “He’s eight.” And she replies, “He’s good at it.”

Zack is good at being eight.

Today, it was same-old, same-old with the arguing and the bargaining and the demanding and the stubborness. (I’m not telling you who did what, because we both did a lot of each–maybe that’s where he gets it. But I think his big problem is he thinks he’s the parent. [Either that, or his big problem is that I am his parent.]) Anyway–

I’m grateful that I let it go for the afternoon, long enough for us to go outside and build a snow fort together. An entire hour without a single argument–it was wonderful. If only I could figure out how to make cleaning like building a snow fort . . .

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 12 2008
mandy

I keep telling myself that these little spirits were sent with strong wills because they will need them to survive this world at this time. Whatever keeps you from pinching their cute little heads off, I guess.

23 12 2008
Lici

I am soooo.. glad to hear that I’m not the only one with this dilemma. Conner and I have been butting heads too. It must be the age…it better just be the age or I might need to visit a place with padded walls. Hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas! Enjoy the snow!

23 12 2008
Tami

Good job building the snow fort. It’s so good when they spend some time just having fun with us. You’re a great mom, if you weren’t you would just let him run wild!

23 12 2008
Kathleen

I totally know what you mean, Everett said to me the other day “well fine, when I’m a dad I’m going to boss around my kids too, and make them do their homework, and clean their rooms, and do chores….” and I said, “I hope you do”.
Are our girls going to be like this too?

23 12 2008
Dina

I have one of those at my house too, but he’s 6. I thought he would magically transform by age 8. Or get tired of it. Or mature. Or be cured by baptismal waters…….oy.

Leave a Reply

