A Post Even Though I Should Be Sleeping–

30 01 2009

It’s late and I’m tired, but I don’t want to go to bed. I haven’t watched television (besides Little Einsteins and Phineas and Ferb) for a couple of weeks, so I’m glutting on the Food Network (Good Eats “Olive Me” episode currently running) and doing random things on the computer. Random, like updating my blog.

dsc_0071

I’ve been taking a photography class at a community college. Every Sunday, my brothers, parents, and I have a Family Chat. After almost everyone else left this last week, I told my one brother, El Jefe, about my class. El Jefe is a great photographer. If you don’t believe me, just look at these.

Actually, most of my brothers know more about photography than I do. Anyway, I was telling El Jefe about my assignment this last week, which was to take three to five pictures in manual mode.

All week long, I’d been taking photos, yanking the aperture and shutter speed clear one way or the other until I came to a happy (lucky) medium. I got a few good shots:

dsc_0207

He’s watching tv.

dsc_0171

This one was a little out-of-focus, but I love it–Colby’s walking and quite happy about it.

dsc_0116

This is my favorite from this week. I wish I knew what I did so I could do it again.

So, El Jefe and I were chatting away, and I was bemoaning how thick my skull is when it comes to figuring out aperture and shutter speed. El Jefe gave me some tips, a few things to try to get used to manual mode. Then he said, “And don’t forget to use your meter!”

And I said, “What meter?”

And he said, “Your teacher wants you to take pictures in manual mode, and he didn’t teach you how to use your meter?”

Me: No.

El Jefe: That’s lame.

Friends out there in blogland, I have excellent news: you don’t have to memorize which apertures go with which shutter speeds in any given lighting condition.

[Insert sounds of angels singing.]

Here I thought in order to be able to use the manual setting on my camera I would have to know that (up there, right before the angels) in my brain. My brain is too full for all those numbers. But guess what! Your SLR camera will have a METER somewhere that will TELL you which aperture and shutter speed will work in your current condition.

[Insert angels singing again.]

I asked Stan the next day. “Did you know about the meter?”

He smirked and said, “Yeah. Didn’t you?”

So, I am apparently the last person on earth to find out about the camera meter. But that’s okay because NOW I KNOW.

And I will use this knowledge to take fantastic pictures. Or at least try to, and possibly come closer to achieving it.

dsc_00311

Stay tuned for next week’s assignment: Use shutter speed to stop action or a panning motion to take a photo with appropriate blur.

(As opposed to inappropriate blur.) I need to focus on Alton Brown now; he’s telling me about making dips. There’s nothing I like more than a good cracker/chip dip. Good night!

Actions

Information

10 responses

30 01 2009
Candice Rail

You are the second to the last person on earth to know about meter.

I LOVE Alton Brown. He taught me to make a turkey, fry chicken, and bake biscuits.

30 01 2009
Tami

The pictures are great. You already take good pictures, the class will help you in some technical areas. However, you are already a true artiste!

30 01 2009
Berta

I am SO EXCITED for you! Your pictures looked fabulous BEFORE taking your class – but it’s so fun learning! Here’s an EXCELLENT resource for you – I went to it over a year ago and it helped me a lot. We should challenge each other and go out and share our pictures – that would be ‘sweet’!
Here’s the link for a 12 week course (with assignments) absolutely FREE – all you have to do is run it off. It taught me a lot and I shared it with the people I took the photography class with because our teacher was talking way over their heads!
http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/cg_display.asp?g=2&seed_id=26134

If for any reason it doesn’t work – email me or contact me on my blog or facebook and I’ll give it to you again.
Love ya –
Berta

30 01 2009
Jacki

Ha! I don’t know about meter either. I even took a class! I know panning (but that’s about it!)

30 01 2009
Kathleen

I think I’ve heard Chris say something about a meter…but I have no idea how to use it. Maybe I’ll have to have him show me. Great pics by the way. I love the green background in that one of Colby.

30 01 2009
moniquel319

I just love the one of him watching tv. Maybe it’s the roundness of his baby features. So cute!

31 01 2009
Mrs. Olsen

What kind of camera do you use?

31 01 2009
Alias

I imagine it’s hard not to get pleasant pictures with such a cute subject! 🙂 Good job – these look fantastic.

31 01 2009
earwaxtasteslikecrayons

Mrs. O–It’s a Nikon D80. I don’t know if they make them anymore, but Stan has informed me (darkly) that the meter is “off” and that the D60 and even the D40 do a better job. Still, I’ve had lots better luck with the meter than without it.

31 01 2009
Dad

Hmmmmm! Maybe it was your Dad’s fault for not teaching you about meters—-Sorry! I think you can sort of check your meter by using the same settings as your other digital and then comparing the results—but I don’t know for sure. Probably Jefe or one of your other brothers will know. You’re all alot smarter than me. Love you-

Leave a Reply

