In the Bleak Midwinter

24 02 2009

dsc_0125

We went to Idaho. For a whole week!

Some Washington school districts have this crazy thing called mid-winter break. An entire week off in the middle of February, so we can enjoy being out of school in the lovely . . . rain. We then get to stay in school until almost the end of June! Lucky us!

I am not a fan.

This year, though, I forced Stan at gunpoint (not really) to drive us to Idaho to hang with the family.

Stan said to me, “I don’t really consider going home a vacation.”

I said, “Well, it is to me. I don’t have to cook as much and I don’t have to clean as much and we get to see our family.”

Stan may also not consider it a vacation because he had to work remotely while we were there. So, really, it wasn’t a vacation for him. But it was for the rest of us.

Love you, Stan! You’re the best.

dsc_0126

This isn’t really a picture of anything, but it does show the insane amount of snow they still have there.

dsc_01321

We got to go sledding with our cousins.

dsc_0142

 And bowling with our other cousins.

dsc_0198

Colby chilled with Aunt P most of the time (thank you!). He also discovered Rubik’s Cube–the best thing since sliced bread!

dsc_0147

Zack had his first sleepover (and had no problems, surprisingly) with his cousin and also watched Star Wars for the first time. (I kind of feel bad I missed it.)

More of the exciting Idaho vacation to come, including our illuminating visit to the farm . . . (sorry, Mrs. O, no chickens).

Actions

Information

9 responses

24 02 2009
Camber

I still cannot believe you left the day before we got there. That was poor planning on our part! haha

24 02 2009
Candice

Oh, brrrrrrr. But, I love Idaho, and I love family.

24 02 2009
Mandy

I can’t believe how much snow they still have! I miss it there…having my parents gone has cut down on the need to visit. Thanks for the drive-by wave!

25 02 2009
Mrs. Olsen

Whose kid is that (the cousin pictured)? I agree with you, going home is like a vacation.

25 02 2009
Kathleen

so fun! Paul is convinced that pic of Colby is actually him. He was so excited to see the pic, and won’t stop saying, “oh, Paul…my Paul” (while pointing at himself) He is wearing a brown stripped shirt today…
We need to get together!

25 02 2009
Greg

@Mrs. Olsen – that kid would be mine. I believe her previous codename was “Marian”.

26 02 2009
Candice

I just noticed the name of your post on my second reading. That is one of my husband’s favorite Christmas songs.

26 02 2009
Kristen

I’m so glad I’m not in Idaho anymore…instead of ridiculous amounts of snow, we have blooming daffodils and pear trees here in Georgia. 🙂 I’m glad y’all had fun with your family!

26 02 2009
Alias

Okay, I so totally thought Rubik’s was Rubix. My whole life. And here I thought I knew everything! lol…

Leave a Reply

