Homemade Microwave Popcorn

14 05 2009

I’ve been working on a post that isn’t coming together how I envisioned. It’s been taxing for me mentally and emotionally, so I’m setting it aside for the rest of the day.

Instead, I’m going to tell you how to make homemade microwave popcorn.

I love popcorn (especially that sweet/salty kettle corn combo) and microwave popcorn is always nice for the convenience factor. Once Zack was diagnosed with celiac, though, we’ve had to really cut back on our convenience foods, since a lot of times processing = adding gluten.

We have a great popcorn popper (thanks, Sam and Collette!) but it’s kind of a hassle to get out and clean when you just want a little snack. Imagine my happy surprise, then, when Eden brought home a recipe for homemade microwave popcorn. Huzzah!

In a paper lunch bag, pour 1/4 cup popcorn kernels.

Fold the top of the bag down a couple of times.

Microwave on high for 2 minutes. (This varies, of course, according to your microwave, so just do the normal microwave popcorn thing where you stop when the pops are more than 2-3 seconds apart.)

Top with whatever you like on popcorn. We like butter at our house. And salt for everyone except Zack.

That’s it. Enjoy.

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 05 2009
mandy

I don’t know why I am so surprised that it is possible to make my own microwave popcorn. I guess I assumed Orville Redenbacher had some kind of magic formula. This will be a perfect way to use food storage popcorn. Thanks!

15 05 2009
Kathleen

no way! I have got to try that…

15 05 2009
Candice

So it is just popcorn…and bag…that is amazing.

I feel that when I find out how to make the food that I buy from the stores, I am always in awe at how simple it was to do it myself-and empowering.

18 05 2009
Mr. Smith

WOOHOO! That sounds like fun! Can you add things to your bag to make it yummy while it pops, or is that some kind of fire hazard, I wonder…

(PS: This is Mrs.Smith, not Mr.)

Leave a Reply

