Sick Days

2 02 2010

I always find it interesting that I’m most grateful for my health when I’m sick.

I’ve been sick for two days.

The kind of sick where your insides feel jumpy and your outsides feel the same. Where even the brushing of your clothes against your skin feels like sandpaper, and you’ve eaten so little you’re weak as a newborn kitten. Where the ache starts just between your shoulder blades and starts spreading, spreading like the dread you feel in your heart because you know, all vitamin C- and zinc-popping aside, it’s coming and there’s no way to stop it.

The virus.

It’s been hopping through the family like a drunken ping-pong ball, taking one of us hostage here, grazing another one of us there.

When it reaches the captain of the ship, though, things (meaning food preparation and laundry, picking up and putting away, those sorts of things) grind to an unweildy halt.

They don’t matter so much, really, when a body’s being reamed out.

Who needs food, anyway? Clean clothes? Pah.

Two days, and I’m starting to come out. Self is reasserting. The long nap this morning helped, as did the hot bath this afternoon. Thank goodness for ibuprofen.

Now I start the slippery slope of recovery: doing, but not too much. I don’t want to land in this land again anytime soon.

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 02 2010
Tami

Hope your recovery is fast!

2 02 2010
Dina

I think you get a free pass for dejunking the bedroom this week. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 02 2010
moniquel319

Really glad your on the mend. I always seem to find more time for things I want to do like blogging when I’m sick. Maybe it’s because things I want to do don’t ever involve physical activity. Hmmmm must evaluate.

3 02 2010
Mrs. Olsen

Drunken ping-pong ball. That really put it into perspective. Sorry kiddo.

3 02 2010
Alias

Dang! Captains should not be allowed to get sick! I think it should be a rule. You give birth, you get out of being sick ever again for the next 20 years at least.

Very lovely writing, though, for someone so sick. I almost feel sick along with you.
I mean,
um,
hm…
That didn’t come out the way I intended now, did it.
๐Ÿ™‚

3 02 2010
mandy

I’m probably jinxing myself but I haven’t felt that kind of sick in a long time, or ever, really. (Pause for wood knocking other superstitions.) We get stomach viruses but those yucky full body things tend to skip us over. Your description makes me doubly glad to have that miss us.

Glad you are on the mend.

Leave a Reply

