Just Call Him J.D.

17 05 2010

My baby brother graduated from law school on Saturday. Since I wasn’t going (tell me trying to entertain four children during a commencement speech–no matter how well-done–wouldn’t be torture), we had our own ceremony at my house while he and his family were here for Eden’s baptism.

I knew that cap and gown would come in handy sometime.

I made him dance like this, and told him to do it at the real thing. I don’t think he did (lawyers can be so stuffy!), but I like to imagine it happening anyway.

Me, posing with the graduate and his tassel.

Both of us dancing. It doesn’t get any better than this.

And the obligatory mortarboard-poking-my-eye-out shot. That never gets old.

(Really. I have an almost identical picture from his high school graduation–except I had short hair and was pregnant with Zack at the time.)

Love you, Mike! Sue the pants off of them, whoever they are.

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 05 2010
Mr. Smith

Attorneys are the only individuals of which I’m aware that write a several hundred page document and call it a “brief” – stuffy and wacko!

Of course, I was “this” close to becoming one myself (we forfeited our law school seat deposit when we moved to Washington), so I include myself in that category of weirdos despite the noted absence of a Juris Doctorate degree.

Glad you didn’t poke your eye out. 🙂

19 05 2010
Tami

Love those pictures! Especially the one where you are smiling together! You lucky girl to have such a cool brother….or is it that he is so lucky to have an awesome sister like you?

20 05 2010
Mrs. Olsen

Whaaa? Lil Mikey is old enough to graduate from law school?! I remember when your mom brought him home from the hospital. Way to go? What law specialty by the way?

22 05 2010
Ty

All that hassle just for a tassel…way to got Mike!

30 05 2010
Niki

I was going to say, “Aaaaah, I remember the day he was born.” but my clever sissy there beat me to it. I really do remember him being brought home from the hospital. I can’t believe he’s all grown up . . . seems like only yesterday he came home from the hospital as a newborn . . oh wait, I already said that. Okay, CONGRATS Mike!

Leave a Reply

