VIVA!

27 06 2010

(It doesn’t look much like the real Space Needle, but I’m just being a snob.)

I was able to take a mini-vacation to Las Vegas last weekend.

It was wonderful.

The weather was hot and dry (we’ve had a remarkably wet and cold spring in these parts). I wore sandals and my feet were warm.

Not only that, I also got to hang out with some of my favorite people:

I love how my niece (affectionately known in blogland as Chunk #2) is trying to sneak her mom’s lemonade.

I know, right? SO lucky.

Here I am, talking to my kids, letting them know that, yes, I arrived safely, while avoiding telling them where I was:

I didn’t want them to be jealous. They were STILL in school at the time, after all (poor dears).

It was pretty much the perfect break.

I got to stay up late, read books, and sleep in.

I got to be the fun aunt instead of the disciplinarian mom. (Chunk #1 sat next to me in the car on the way to church and said, “I love you, Aunt Wendy.” AW!)

I got to take care of only myself. (Every mom needs that kind of break several times a year.)

I got to help my brother build an Ikea bed until late so he could keep his “Father of the Year” title.

I got to see that I’m not the only one who has children who occasionally act like this in the grocery store:

I also got to take loads of random pictures of them which, let’s face it, can get annoying after awhile.

But they didn’t mind.

Thanks for a great trip, guys. See you in August!

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 06 2010
Tami

Yay for personal vacations!! I love them! It’s like rediscovering a part of yourself that is often dormant.

29 06 2010
Kathleen

so glad you got to go warm up your toes:) Looks like fun!

5 07 2010
Mrs. Olsen

Looks like a great trip. You said your real name in this post and now your identity will be stolen forever. 😉

7 07 2010
Mandy

Such a great idea. I am glad you were able to get away and enjoy yourself.

P.S. Love your bracelet.

Leave a Reply

