A Small Step for Me, a Giant Leap for My Sewing Self-Esteem

18 07 2010

I haven’t been sewing for a couple of months, but before then I was going like gangbusters–gangbusters, I tell you! I made Eden’s baptism dress (which my mom finished for me in the eleventh hour [thanks, Mom!]) and some pajamas for Rainbow (which were supposed to be Eden’s, but ended up not fitting) and a skirt for myself and a dress for myself.

Since the dawn of my 4-H sewing class, I have always suffered from an excess of vision. I knew what I wanted to make, and I knew exactly what I wanted it to look like. When, invariably, the end product didn’t match my vision, I would cry in frustration. (You think I am being dramatic. Seriously, folks, it was years before I could complete a sewing project without crying somewhere along the way.)

The longer I’m at it, the less I cry. I don’t know if that’s because I’m getting better at this sewing stuff or if my expectations have been sufficiently lowered.

The dress I made, well, it was a disappointment. The craftmanship was all right–no noticably crooked seams and the zipper (“ZIPPERS!” [snarled with clenched fist]) wasn’t even too bad. And, I feel honor-bound to point out that the fit is pretty fantastic. The problem? It looks like a pioneer dress. I don’t know if the fabric choice was bad or if it’s a pattern issue. All I know is when I put it on there is a serious Holly Hobbie vibe.

I tried to drown it out with some cute modern jewelry.

It didn’t work.

I haven’t cried yet, though.

Today, I wore the skirt to church. Now, the skirt came together beautifully. Really, it is very nicely sewn, even most of the zipper (“ZIPPERS!” [snarl]) and I really like the pattern. But when I tried it on, the fit was terrible.

One of the things I’d really like to learn how to do is alter clothes. After trying to fix the waist of the skirt, though, I’m thinking I still need more practice.

Anyway, the skirt has been languishing in my closet for about four months (I was hoping to buy some really cute shoes to draw the eye away and down–it’s all about distraction, apparently), and today I thought I’d give it a whirl. (It’s great for whirling, too.)

Imagine my secret joy (if you can) when a friend (whom I consider to be pretty much a fashionista) casually mentioned as we were talking, “Cute skirt.”

I said, “Oh, this old thing? I only wear this when I don’t care how I look.”

(Not really.)

I said, “Oh, thanks.” Then continued conversation casually, not allowing the fact that my self-esteem was cartwheeling around the room to distract me from our discussion of girls’ camp.

I even had Eden take a picture of me in all my skirted glory so you could share in my triumph.

My shirt pretty much covers up the mess of the waist. I should have tried it on three months ago and made that discovery!

I have several more patterns and lengths of clearance rack fabrics. After making Eden’s promised pajamas (not to be confused with the Garden of Eden/promised land), I’m going to try another dress.

And, hey, we’ve got the Pioneer Day picnic on Saturday. I know exactly what to wear.

Actions

Information

11 responses

18 07 2010
Kari

that is a very cute skirt! I wish I had half of your sewing skills. I can’t even sew a straight line.

18 07 2010
Nancy

I thought it was a cute skirt as well…love the shoes, too! You have a great ability to be able to sew, paint, cook, etc., along with being “MOM…..I need you!” to 4 – nice going πŸ™‚

18 07 2010
Jacki

Cute- cute- CUTE!!

19 07 2010
INA

It really is cute!! Great work! (And I’ve always been impressed with your sewing skills… πŸ™‚

19 07 2010
anitanap

Super cute! πŸ™‚ (Wait. Cute has been used, um, a lot here in commentland. But it is.) Stylin’. Groovy. Mui fabulouso. I love it. And here comes the ultimate compliment for all homemade clothes — I’d never guess you didn’t buy it in a store.

PS: I can totally see it with bright red shoes. Wasn’t there a post once upon a time about red lipstick? That would go, too.

19 07 2010
Dina

Yes, where’s the LIPSTICK? Red, baby!

LOVE the skirt!

20 07 2010
Mandy

Woot-woo! I love it. And the sassy pose.

21 07 2010
Kathleen

Love the skirt, love the shoes. And I really want to see the dress!

22 07 2010
INA

PS – Check to make sure you don’t have a virus since you replied to that crazy email! And I really hope they get kicked out soon because I want my email back!

24 07 2010
Wendy

Thanks, Ina–passwords all changed. Hopefully I can remember them.

27 07 2010
Monique

It’s beautiful Wendy. The comment was well deserved.

Leave a Reply

