Artistically Speaking

26 08 2010

My blogging seems to be taking hit after hit. Apparently, I don’t have anything left to say because I’m having a hard time making anything sound coherent. That’s okay, though. Coherence is WAY overrated.

Anyway, despite the fact that my class ended several months ago, today I am posting the projects from my 3-dimensional design class. The entire class wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, but I enjoyed myself very much. Please excuse the poor photography–for some reason I’m struggling with that, too.

The first project was a cardboard sculpture. I decided to do a hanging piece. I was going for something that felt off balance and balanced at the same time. When I look at it I think, “Dr. Suess tornado”, but I’m happy with it overall. After seeing some of my classmates’ projects I decided you can make pretty much anything out of cardboard.

Our second project was entitled “Form Over Function.” In a long ago landscape design class I remember my teacher saying “Form follows function,” meaning that whatever you design shouldn’t just look good, it needs to work. The “Form Over Function” challenge was to flip that around, to take an ordinary object and use its shape, color, and other attributes to turn it into something beautiful (and generally unrelated to the original object). I had a shoebox full of batteries under my sink, patiently waiting for me to find a recycling venue for them. I tried making several different objects  (a pig, a bassoon), but it ended up turning into more of an abstract thing than a literal thing. When I presented it, I hung the four panels on a wall. Now, it’s sitting in a bag under my table. I’m not quite sure what to do with it. I have thought up my next FOF project, though–start saving your bread bag square-closers, everybody!

 The third project was an assemblage, where the requirement was to use symbolic objects to make a person. I did my mom.

I took apart an old sewing machine for parts, also using a quilt book and old spools of thread to make her. I put pictures of some of the people she’s made quilts for over the years inside. I think it turned out pretty well, and I gave it to my mom for Mother’s Day.

 

And then, of course, the leaf-covered papier mache peacock. Go, natural materials!

Our last project was a frontal piece, to be viewed from one angle. A shrine of sorts. The examples our teacher showed us were relics for saints. One of the requirements was it had to be in a box, so I hollowed out a book for mine . . .

. . . and made a shrine for my dad, which I gave to him for Father’s Day. This photo is the most terrible of them all, but it’s cool in real life. Honest.

I’m signed up for two more classes this fall. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 08 2010
Mrs. Olsen

Love it! It’s therapeutic to get creativity out right? I bet your ma and pa loved your projects..

27 08 2010
Tami

Beautiful, all of them! You are so amazing!

30 08 2010
moniquel319

I loved so many of them! The cardboard thingy was awesome. I loved the shadow it made. And your mom’s representation was awesome! How touching. I would have cried when I got it.

3 09 2010
Kathleen

How fun to use your creativity! I’m still amazed at your mother’s book, it was so cool.

Leave a Reply

