The Fourth First Day of School

10 10 2010

You asked for this, remember? Well, my mom and Niki did, anyway. It’s me, with my backpack and minivan, with my greasy hair and tired eyes, on my first day of school. (Obviously, I have done away with trying to make a good impression.)

Phew. I can’t believe I haven’t blogged in a month. I’m only taking one class this quarter, a basic drawing class, and I’m way more busy and stressed out with it than I was taking two classes during spring quarter.

One thing that has partially possessed me the past few weeks is my art portfoilo bag. It isn’t important, but sometimes I obsess about unimportant things. I debated about buying one of those big black portfolios, but then I thought, “Why don’t I make one?”

Thus commenced the drawing of plans:

And then sewing on the piping (which took years) and figuring out the pockets:

That’s the inside. Here’s the other half of the inside:

And the outside:

There are a few things I would do differently if there were to be a next time (which I’m sure there won’t–how many art portfolios does a person need, anyway?), but overall I’m happy with it.

I am re-committing to blogging! I just had to get that darn art-portfolio-monkey off my back . . .

Actions

Information

10 responses

11 10 2010
Rae

stinking cool bag!

11 10 2010
melissa

With piping! I’m impressed! I have that same bug of, “why buy it if you can make it?”

11 10 2010
GoofyJ

I here you on the blogging thing – most of last spring and summer I hardly even looked at my blog – now baby is here and I’ve been blogging almost every day (yay me!). Anyway, I love your bag! And I’m looking forward to more posts, cause I love your blog! 😀

12 10 2010
Mom

Thanks for the pictures! Your bag turned out great and I am sure you are going to get requests to make more.

12 10 2010
Mandy

I love it! I’m afraid I’m the opposite–“Why make it when I can buy it?” Wish you were closer to show me the error of my ways.

13 10 2010
HBA

The bag looks great! Good luck in your class; I’m excited to see more of your work.

14 10 2010
Mrs. Olsen

wow. You’re good! Sorry about the craziness…you will emerge a beautiful brainy butterfly.

15 10 2010
mamacheetah

I agree with Mrs. Olsen and her alliteration. You are one talented woman and wish I had the skills you possess in your pinky finger.

18 10 2010
Kathleen

I am way impressed, that turned out really cute. You have skills.

7 11 2010
Mrs.Smith

You made that? Wowzers. I knew it! You really are amazing.
Good luck with school this semester. 🙂

Leave a Reply

