Pumpkins and Costumes and Candy (Oh, my!)

1 11 2010

I have decided I am the Halloween Grinch. I really don’t like Halloween much at all, and this year did nothing to change my opinion. Still, the kids had fun, so that’s all that matters, right?

The pumpkins:

The costumes:

Colby got a my-mom-tortured-me-by-stuffing-me-into-a-tiger-suit-last-year pass on the costuming. He was happy.

For our ward party,  I dressed up as a member of the ISU bowling team circa 1975. No one asked me what my costume was, and I’ve decided it must have been because:

1. It was such a great costume, no explanation was necessary.

or

2. I already dress so closely to an ISU bowling team member circa 1975 that no one realized I was dressed up.

(I’m afraid it’s number two.)

Good-bye until next year, Halloween! I won’t miss you!

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 11 2010
Rae

I think you’re a super trooper for going through with the day 🙂 And those costumes are really, really awesome.

2 11 2010
Jefe

Ummmm….no picture of YOU? And, it wasn’t until I read the previous post that I realized that Rainbow was the ninja, and Zack was the dragon (?) in blackface. I guess that means they are good costumes. Is #2 a horse?

(This is by no means an insult to your costume-making prowess. I just want to make sure I get it right. Sorry you didn’t have more fun this year.)

–El Jefe

2 11 2010
Wendy

El Jefe–
Yes, Zack was the dragon. (Toothless from “How to Train Your Dragon”, a significantly obscure reference, as per usual.) You seriously couldn’t tell from the picture? I think your ‘favorite uncle’ status could be in jeopardy.
Love,
Wendy

P.S. Post pictures of your camping trip, por favor.

2 11 2010
Mandy

I, too, am disappointed to miss out on the ISU bowling costume. How will I copy it for next year? Also on my list to copy? The winking pumpkin. It is so cute I must make one.

7 11 2010
Mrs.Smith

Ha! I totally knew it was Toothless! It’s the most awesome costume ever made!!! Can I have the favorite uncle status?
Okay, just a few problems with that, I know, one being that your darling children have probably forgotten completely who I am. (blowing a raspberry their direction!)
But anyway. Good job on making it fun for them even though it’s not the greatest holiday ever. Loved the pictures and the costumes.

7 11 2010
Anonymous

Amen!

Leave a Reply

