New Year, New Opportunity

2 01 2011

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope you’re all recovered from staying up late and eating party food. A friend of mine posted anti-resolutions–which I loved–so I’m considering doing the same. It’s something that’s going to take some thinking on, though, so I’ll to get that done later. I’ve also got a couple more posts on family food culture brewing–one on holiday food traditions, and one on the food culture I’m passing on to my children. Exciting, no?

Today, though, is my first post on the ANWA Founder and Friends blog. I’ve belonged to the American Night Writers Association for a couple of years now, and I’m excited for the opportunity to be a part of their blogging team. You can find my post here.

What I didn’t mention in that post is that half of the time I mis-type the name of my awesome Christmas gift this way:

The Chicago Manuel of Style

And then, when I change it, I always laugh at the picture in my head of some Hispanic fashionista (I’m strongly reminded of Mondo from Project Runway) in Chicago named Manuel.

He should totally have a blog.

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 01 2011
Dina

Is that a new picture of you in your “about” section? Last I saw you….you had long hair. 🙂 Happy New Year!

2 01 2011
Wendy

Not a new picture–a very old picture. Still going long, probably until summer when I will hack it all off.

3 01 2011
Rae

I’ve been smiling at “Manuel of Style” all weekend. When my grammar was wrong on a blog post, I imagined him snapping his finger and doing the head-bob at me, saying “Girrrrrrrrlll, no!”

Very cool on the ANWA blog gig. Though, I’m usually very excited when someone gives me a book for Christmas. I find it flattering that they enjoyed a book and think enough of our friendship to share it with me. Maybe I’m just flattering myself, though.

5 01 2011
Mandy

I’m so glad you feel compelled to write because I always love to read it. Here’s to asking for what you want!

5 01 2011
Tami

So exciting…the blog entry on the site, not the book. 😉 Actually, the book is exciting too for you!

7 01 2011
Mrs.Smith

If you find Manuel’s blog, let me know. I laughed just thinking about it, so I’m sure it’s good.
But probably not as good as your writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

