Sisters

18 01 2011

This post is dedicated to my mom (and my dad, too, I guess). Behold the dresses (you know, Dad–the ones you gave them for Christmas?):

Hm. I really need to find a better place to take pictures than in front of the fridge.

Growing up, I always wished I had a sister so we could dress the same. Tell me, all you who have sisters, was it so fun dressing the same? I remember one time when I got a hand-me-down from my friend Niki, and she got a hand-me-down from her sister Amber, and they were the same shirt and so we wore them on Field Day and I thought it was the Best Day Ever. Even if I didn’t get any blue ribbons.

It’s not that I don’t love my brothers, because I do. I just couldn’t ever convince any of them to dress like me.

Guess who’s tired of the photo shoot?

In other news, guess who can do the splits?

Both ways?

Yeah, it’s my Rainbow. She does the splits several times a day, just for fun. In fact, the other day I had her with me at Sam’s Club. I was busy watching my groceries be checked, playing that game where you look at the total on the screen and you look at the remaining groceries on the conveyor belt and calculate how close your initial estimate is going to be (don’t you just love that game?) when I looked over my shoulder and caught a movement from my peripheral vision. My lower peripheral vision.

Rainbow was, in fact, doing the splits. Chinese. In Sam’s Club. I know, right? Ew. But I couldn’t stop laughing anyway. I’m not sure if she was showing off or simply bored. I’ll have to keep an eye on that.

I bet if I had a sister to call, she would know.

Call your sister! She wants to talk to you.

Actions

Information

11 responses

18 01 2011
Dina

Wish I had a sister too. Sniff. I’m sure it’s really fun dressing the same. Sniff.

18 01 2011
Wendy

Okay, D. You know what this means, right? We have to wear matching outfits at our next family function.

18 01 2011
HBA

I guess we quit dressing alike before I was old enough to think much about it. I should try to dress like my sisters now…they always pick out cute things. Last year Maren was making a huge deal about getting a matching shirt for the “twin” day at school. I realized she never gets to match anyone at home. We took her and a friend and got them shirts to match. She was in heaven.

18 01 2011
Kam

I have two sisters and my grandmother would make us matching dresses all the time but it was annoying. We felt like they saw us as the same instead of individuals. Plus they always gave my older sister the blue and I ended up with green, yellow, or pink. I hate pink. Then there was always fighting because my oldest sister “wouldn’t be caught dead” wearing the same outfit as me and was rarely willing to give up any of her old clothes so I could wear them just out of principle. It’s not the “dream” you think it is. Trust me.

18 01 2011
Kathleen

Hey, I think Jeanette called me right after she read this post! Haha.
When we were growing up my mom dressed Jeanette & I like alike. I still remember people asking if we were twins, even though we are 2 1/2 years apart. I’m pretty sure I liked that more than J did.
Just wondering, why do we call it Chinese splits? I’ll have to google that one.

19 01 2011
Dina

Hmmm, what shall we wear? 🙂

19 01 2011
Wendy

HBA–Twin day? What a great idea! All my kids have is pajama day.

Kami–Dissension noted. 🙂 Reality is never quite as good as dreams, unfortunately. I used to hate pink, too, but I must admit it’s been growing on me the past few years.

Kathleen–I remember you two dressing alike. I wanted to dress like you, and have beautiful blond hair like you, too.

Dina–Something with sequins, for SURE. Then there can be no doubt we did it on purpose.

20 01 2011
Marybeth

Cute pictures! I didn’t have a sister, either, which might account for the fact that I was a “tomboy” and wanted to do what my big brother did.

21 01 2011
Mrs. Olsen

Oh sweet little Wendy…you needed a sister so bad! But don’t forget along with daily chit chat and dressing up, sisters also hate to loan their favorite shirts and lock you inside closets for fun.

Nice job on the splits little Wendy (BTW).
Adios!

22 01 2011
mamacheetah

My closest sister was about three grade levels above me. Any suggestion made by me to dress alike was immediately shut down.

5 02 2011
Niki

I do remember that field day, I believe the shirts were pastel colors in wide stripes. I will say it is great to have sisters, but not for dressing alike, just to have sisters. If you ever need a sister to call so you can brag about your daughter doing chinese splits (TOTALLY AWESOME,) or to brag about a fantastic piece of furniture you just finished, I’m just a phone call (and 3 hr time difference) away!

Leave a Reply

