Ironically Interesting

27 02 2011

Tomorrow is the last day of February.

I find that a little ironic.

February, even though it has the fewest days of any month, is really the longest month in existence. Winter is still holding everyone by the throat. The cold and snow isn’t fun anymore–we crossed that line right after New Year’s.

But when I look at the calendar and see March sparkling and beckoning like a pot o’ gold under a rainbow, I still think, “Wait. What happened to February?”

It’s not like I’m going to miss February. February is cold and dark and bitter. March, while still being those things sometimes, is also sunny sometimes. And it isn’t nearly as dark. (Wait. Is that the same thing? No. I’m talking about day length here.) Occasionally it even warms up past 50 degrees.

But still. March means paying the mortgage. It means I didn’t quite get everyone visited on my list. It means infusions.

I will admit that’s what I dread the most, even though the kids seem to be fairly okay with it. No whines of desperation, no trying to talk me out of it. Maybe they don’t actually know it’s this week. Or it hasn’t sunk in yet.

Either way, farewell to February. Here’s wishing you all a marvelous March!

Actions

Information

5 responses

27 02 2011
Rae

March looks so fresh and green to me- it means that thinking about the garden isn’t all in vain, that we’re that much closer to me not being constantly cold, to a break from school for Chris. Hello, March, come on in and make yourself comfortable.

28 02 2011
Dina

Are you on winter break this week? Good luck with the infusions. Hurry up, weekend.

28 02 2011
Wendy

Rae–I think I’m looking forward to the second week of March, more than the advent of it.

D–They cancelled mid-winter break this year (yahoo!) so the kids are missing school.

1 03 2011
HBA

Good luck this week, Wendy. I’ll be thinking of you guys! Today is bright and sunny here…welcome, March. However, I am confident our Idaho winter isn’t coming to a close just yet.

1 03 2011
Monique

I tired to comment on fb but it was being wacky. My prayers are with you.

Leave a Reply

