That’s What Friends are For

8 03 2011

Who can you call and ask to spend three hours of their Saturday wrapping you in duct tape in order to make one of these?

(The tutorial says two hours, but it actually took us closer to three. And even though I’m young and hardy, I was still getting light-headed by the end–which is why I didn’t get a picture of myself while wearing the duct tape dress. I probably should have stuck with it another few minutes to get the photo because, really, how often are you wrapped completely in duct tape? Wait. Don’t answer that.)

Who else can you call to rescue you from a hair emergency when you accidentally swipe your head on the bottom of your duct-tape dress form while you’re filling it with expanding foam and you realize that, yeah, long hair might not really be your thing but you’re still pretty attached to it?

That’s right: friends.

Thank you, friends!

Actions

Information

12 responses

8 03 2011
Shelli

I’ve been reading “The Artist’s Way,” and the author says you need to do weekly artist dates — something simple and fun that will spark your creativity. You’ve just given me an idea to put on my list: duct tape sculpture. Thanks!

I don’t think I’d like to see the “end” results (pun intended) if I were to do a duct tape dress of my own. 🙂

8 03 2011
Wendy

Shelli–I’ve heard of “The Artist’s Way” but I haven’t read it yet. Sounds like I need to, because duct tape sculpture is something I can totally get on board with.

Also, you’ll notice I didn’t post a side view. I still look at it and think, “Is my rear really that big?”

8 03 2011
Monique

I have a good friend who has read “The Artis’s Way” and LOVES it. She is always quoting from it. On a different note, I have to say, I’m impressed with the dress.

8 03 2011
HBA

Wow, what a project! Can’t wait to see the dresses made using the duct tape dress. Wish I had a mannequin figure like yours!

8 03 2011
Dina

It looks like there are handprints on your…..

Just sayin.

9 03 2011
Candice

That is about the coolest thing that I have ever seen. So your dresses will fit your perfectly now?

9 03 2011
Wendy

Candice–that’s the theory. We’ll see how well it works; I’ve got a dress currently under construction.

Dina–Ha ha! There very well may be. Between that and the fact they are stuffed with newspaper, well, we’ll see how anything turns out.

HBA–You always know the perfect thing to say to make people feel great!

Monique–We should both read it and compare notes.

9 03 2011
Kristen

Wowza!

10 03 2011
Tami

So cool! I’m glad it turned out!

10 03 2011
Mrs. Olsen

THAT fits you? Sexy mama lady…

13 03 2011
Kathleen

that is so cool.
p.s. you have the tiniest waist

21 03 2011
Mandy

I am in awe of the tiny-ness and the creativeness. Can’t wait to see the projects that you whip up!

Leave a Reply

