Cheap Art

8 10 2011

I debated on the title of this post. “Trashy Art” might make people afraid to click on the link. “Recycled Art” was a better option, but the good it might do to the earth to have these bread tags and cardboard hanging on my wall instead of in a landfill is, honestly, negligible.

So I titled it in the truest way possible: cheap art. I want to thank all of you who answered the Call for Submissions way back when. I can truly say if it weren’t for Mom, Monique, Kristen, Nancy, Greg, Rachael, Sandi, Mandi, and anyone else I might have forgotten (and if so I’m sorry–I need to do better at record-keeping) this wouldn’t have been possible. Well, it would have, but just not nearly so soon. It takes awhile to gather hundreds of bread tags, surprisingly enough.

Please excuse the messy table. And speaking of the messy table–I found one at a thrift store. When I get it finished I can kiss the functional-but-not-visually-pleasing card table good-bye.

I think the piece (listen to me, talking all arty) reads better in real life. It’s big and colorful, which is just what I wanted.

And due to my many generous donors, it only cost about $10 (and a few hours) to make. That’s really  what I wanted.

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 10 2011
Monique

Nice. You never cease to amaze me Wendy!

8 10 2011
Rae

Like!! Nice job!

8 10 2011
Kathleen

That is super cool!

8 10 2011
Mom

Does this mean that you are finished and I can stop saving them? I guess there is still a lot of room around the outside of the board. I will send them on or give them to you at Thanksgiving if you would like. You have a great flare for creative ideas. You must get that from Dad. We love you

10 10 2011
Nancy

Wendy, you should send that one in for the “recycle” art – I think the City is looking for artists to feature – check the website for more info – but really, patience!!! If I had done anything with the tabs, it would have been spread glue on the board and toss the tabs, pick it up and see what sticks – So, it was probably a good thing I gave you mine. 🙂

As your mom said, you have a creative gene…and you know how to use it in all the areas you choose.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

