Favorite Dates

17 02 2012

I love my kids.

Sure, they make me crazy sometimes, but it’s a good crazy.

Becoming a mother has stretched and shaped me more than any other thing in my life. And since I generally like how my personhood is coming along, I’m grateful for that.

However, I don’t know that I show that gratitude very often. We’re so full of homework and mealtime and school and church and piano and scouts and therapy and friends that I sometimes feel we don’t get as many chances to connect as I’d like.

I’m trying to change that.

And when I do, I remember that I not only love my children, I also like them.

 

 

I have a soft spot for Mom and Pop anything, which is why we like to get milkshakes at a local diner.

 

 

And crinkle fries loaded with ketchup.

 

 

That briefcase Eden’s got her arm around is the art kit she got for Christmas. While waiting for our food (which didn’t take long, seeing as we were the only patrons), we drew pictures of the pictures of classic cars on the walls, then tried to guess which one the others had drawn.

 

 

This is to prove I was actually there.

 

 

I’m so glad I had a chance to spend a little time with my best-goofy-silly-sweet girls.

 

 

Zack and I had the chance to go out to dinner a week or two later. We went to another “local treasure.” The waitress said, “I love him! He’s like a little businessman.”

I’m not sure how she came to that conclusion, but we had a good time. His favorite class is band and his favorite color is still red and his favorite food is ice cream.

 

 

Colby would have hated a dinner date, so we went on an extra field trip to a gymnasium.

 

 

There was plenty of balancing, jumping, swinging, climbing, and crawling.

 

 

Despite feeling like life is giving me the smack down lately, I truly am blessed.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 02 2012
Monique

“Like” 🙂

17 02 2012
Rae

Oh the joy on Colby’s face in that last picture just broke my heart wide open and put it back together again. I die.

20 02 2012
Kathleen

Fun dates! Now I want a milkshake.

27 02 2012
tamicarson

I’m catching up on blog reading!! Haha! Wonderful dates!

Leave a Reply

