A Long Asterisk

17 05 2012

This morning on Facebook, I posted, “I love being a mom” as my status.

Directly after that, though, I had to comment on my own post and say how even though I always love my kids, I don’t always love being a mom, but today was a good day.

Why did I feel like I had to do that?

I’ve been asking myself that question all day.

I think it’s because I don’t want people to think that there is continuously a rainbow over my house and the sound of singing voices tripping out the doors.

No small woodland creatures come and help with the housework.

“Yes, Mother,” is not something I hear often.

(Or ever. I go by “Mom.”)

Parenting is hard. Way harder than I thought it would be. Is there anything so emotionally, physically, and mentally draining than caring for other human beings? No. No, there is not.

But today, as I cut a pancake for someone else’s mouth, as I tickled a leg that was sticking outside the blankets, as I hugged and kissed and prayed them on their way, I was grateful. Grateful to be this person here, the one who gets to give “Back hug for Mom” to my youngest, the one who gets to do twirls and make up silly songs with my girls, the one who gets to talk about what will and what will not poison a person with my oldest.

I’m so grateful I get to be here, now.

It’s not a bad gig, all told. Especially when no one’s bodily fluid is found in places it shouldn’t be.

Actions

Information

7 responses

17 05 2012
moniquel319

Amen to the bodily fluid part. I dream of the day, when a whole week goes by and I haven’t had to scrub, wipe, disinfect, or launder something because of someone else’s boldly fluids…a girl can dream;)

17 05 2012
moniquel319

P. S. where is that cool glass wall?

17 05 2012
Wendy

It’s at Mary Bridge Children’s Hospital in Tacoma.

17 05 2012
moniquel319

He looks so serious as he examines it.:)

17 05 2012
Jeff Archibald

Body fluids are next week. We all await the update.

Love,
El Jefe

18 05 2012
Melissa

Great post. Amen the body fluids statement.

30 05 2012
Mandy

I completely agree. It is so cliche to say that mothering is the hardest job in the world but really, it is, while at the same time being the best thing ever. Mads starts preschool 3 mornings a week next year and I am already panicking over this next stage of life. What will I do with myself??

Leave a Reply

