My Pet Hoodie

5 12 2012

It has been an interesting blogging year for me.

I have had lots of ideas and lots of thoughts, but not many of those have made it onto my screen, and, in turn, onto yours.

At times I feel like I’m swimming in a giant sea of pork and beans. For the most part, I slog along, trying to keep my head above “water,” and avoiding those slimy pork pieces to the best of my ability. Occasionally, though, I’ll look around and think, “How in the heck did I end up in a giant sea of pork and beans in the first place?”

Anyway, to anyone still out there, who has lasted through my year of pork and bean swimming, I say thank you. I still haven’t figured things out. The older I get the more I wonder if I ever will get things figured out. But you just keep going anyway . . . or, as Dory would say, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming . . .” (That really dovetails nicely into my pork and beans analogy, and I didn’t even plan it. I love it when that happens.)

When I started writing this post, though, it was to tell you the story of this:

DSC_0082

(It’s accompanied by puffy sleep-in Saturday eyes and air-dried hair).

I’d been looking for a new hoodie. My old one is lavender (any guesses on the year? I have no clue) and has a hole in the cuff and a stain on the sleeve. I longed for the warmth and convenience of a zip-up sweatshirt without the attending trashy-looking ambiance I was getting from the pastel.

I did not think finding a hoodie would be difficult: every teenager I know has at least one. And I was right; finding a hoodie wasn’t difficult, but finding an inexpensive hoodie turned out to be a sort of quest. $50, $45, and (bless me) $70 are just way, way too much. I couldn’t believe how expensive they’d gotten. I had one in high school with velux on the inside that I bought at CAL Ranch for only $20! Have I really been out of high school that long? (Don’t answer that.)

Remembering CAL Ranch gave me an idea. I headed to my local farm and ranch store to check out their selection. Again, disappointment awaited me. What kind of a farm store WAS this, anyway? I didn’t need a designer Western hoodie, just a regular ol’ sweatshirt I didn’t have to pull over my head. One I could wear outside to garden. Was that so much to ask?

Apparently so.

I finally made my way over to the children’s section, where I found exactly what I was looking for: a Jerzee’s hoodie for $15. Sadly, the only one they had in my size was a bright royal blue. I was looking for something a little more neutral (see note about owning a lavender hoodie, above).

[Insert sigh of resignation here.]

A hoodie and me. Was it not to be?

Of course, there’s a picture up there. Kind of a spoiler for this story of distress. I found it in the most unlikely of places. Sam’s Club!

Now, before arguing about Sam’s Club being the “most unlikely” of places, let me first say that I have never bought an item of clothing for myself at Sam’s Club. For my kids, yes, for baby showers, all the time. There is nothing wrong with Sam’s Club clothes; there is just something wrong with my size. And apparently I’m old enough and finally wise enough to realize that I shouldn’t buy clothes that aren’t my size because when I do that, I don’t wear the clothes. I will not buy clothes that I haven’t tried on. And Sam’s Club, bless them, does not have a fitting room.

BUT–hoodies don’t require a fitting room. Hoodies, by their very nature, are meant to be worn on top of clothing. Brilliant.

I tried it on in the middle of Sam’s Club.

It fit.

It was so soft inside, I didn’t want to take it off.

It was gray (which is the new brown, which was the new black).

And it was $15.

Sold! To the cheap lady with the tired eyes.

I hardly ever take it off. (Even to swim in pork and beans.)

(I’m still not quite sold on that analogy . . .)

Thanks for reading, even when I’m going on about hoodie crises. Bless you. If you’re nice, I’ll even let you stroke my pet hoodie. Believe me, it’s worth it.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 12 2012
Sam

I completely understand. About the pork and beans AND the sweatshirt. I have an old ratty flannel shirt with the shiny inside that is sooooo warm and comfortable (I think also purchased at CAL Ranch). I have looked for one for a long time to replace it, but haven’t found one that is nice looking and under $50. I will have to check out Sam’s.

6 12 2012
Annette & Neal

I love the pork beans analogy. Your descriptors are amazing! Congratulations on the sweatshirt find. I hope you have fun retiring the purple one. I realized I felt similarly about my pink one–yes pink, just last week!

20 12 2012
anitanap

Ah, then you can understand why I still mourn the loss of the perfect hoodie. I’ve only ever had one that was truly perfect, and -alas- I lost it within a month of loving it.
Sigh.
Maybe I should get a SamsClub membership. Hm…

Leave a Reply

