My Own Eden

14 04 2013

This post is going to be picture- and Eden-heavy.

I haven’t updated with many photos lately because I haven’t taken many photos lately.

We’ve just been crazy busy.

DSC_0004

Eden did a science project earlier this year, testing the sound quality when using different types of line on a tin can phone. She titled it “The Can Whisperer.”

DSC_0036

The night before it was due, she was stressing about getting everything just right on her board. Tears were shed. (Even though she set up this picture proclaiming her love of science, I think she loves art more–the time she spent taking artsy pictures of all of her materials for the experiment equaled the time it took her to perform the experiment.)

The tears were not in vain. She won a ribbon for third place! Way to go, Eden!

Eden was in a local high school’s production of Oliver! (The exclamation point is in the title. Not that I wasn’t excited about it, but I probably wouldn’t have exclaimed that.) Rehearsals started in earnest at the beginning of the year–she went almost every day after school for a couple of months. Then, as it got closer to showtime, the rehearsals extended later into the evening. After two weekends of performances, the entire family was tired of all the late nights. She did a fantastic job and made some new friends, too.

DSC_0013

Her big part was right at the beginning. She was an orphan, and sang “Food, Glorious Food” with the other orphans, Oliver included.

DSC_0022

She had a little solo where she stood on a table. It was darling. (Except we don’t allow standing on the table at our house, so she didn’t get to practice that at home.)

DSC_0032

 

DSC_0039

 

DSC_0098

This is from the song “Who Will Buy?” Eden is a different character here; you can tell because she has parents.

DSC_0106

This is the only shot I got of her during the curtain call where you can see her face. The braided girl shifted just enough that Eden’s face was obscured for all the others.

She had a wonderful time and did a wonderful job–but I can’t say I’m sorry it’s over. Those musicals are so much work!

IMG_1127

 

During the musical, Eden decided she wanted to get her hair cut. In usual me-fashion, it took longer than it should have to get the deed done–but it got done in the end.

IMG_1128

She’s donating it to Locks of Love.

IMG_1131

She picked out the style and everything. No twinges of regret.

IMG_1132

Seriously. Too cute for words.

IMG_1133

And also a tiny bit sassy. I sure love this girl . . . who turns eleven this week! Happy birthday, Eden! I’m so very glad you’re my daughter.

Actions

Information

8 responses

14 04 2013
moniquel319

What a beautiful and amazing daughter you have.

14 04 2013
Wendy

I know, right? I’m so lucky!

14 04 2013
Anonymous

I told her today how cute she looked. I didn’t tell her it made her look more “grown up” but I would have if I knew it was her b-day 🙂 Tell her Happy Happy when the day gets here 🙂 ps – she takes after her mom in more ways that you realize ❤

14 04 2013
Anonymous

just realized it showed me as anonymous – sorry ’bout that – Nancy

15 04 2013
Annette & Neal

Loved your post Wendy. What a cute girl! I loved the pictures from Oliver! What a cute haircut too! Happy Birthday Eden! It was great to see you all! Thanks for making the trip!

15 04 2013
Kathleen

Happy birthday to your beautiful Eden! What a cute science experiment.

18 04 2013
ebarchibald

Thanks for posting the pictures from the musical and also the new look hairdo. I didn’t know you donated your hair. Happy Birthday tomorrow. Let me know what you get with your birthday $. We love you Eden and we really enjoyed having all of you here for Spring Break. Love, Grandma A

3 06 2013
tamicarson

I love her hair!

Leave a Reply

